• +44 7526938805
  • hello@bexharper.com


BHTC offers one-to-one or tuition in pairs to suit your needs. Private tuition is suitable for both adults and children, ages 4+.  Online tuition is also available via Skype.

Subject Covered:

– SATs examinations

– English (KS1 to GCSE – higher and foundation papers)

– English Literature (KS1 to GCSE – both higher and foundation papers)

– Maths (KS1 to KS3 – Year 7 catch-up)

– Special Needs Support, particularly for dyslexia (all levels)

– English as an Additional Language (all levels)

– German (all levels)

– Portuguese (beginner)

– Academic Writing Skills, Study Skills and Essay Writing (all levels)

– Verbal and Non-verbal reasoning examinations

– Undergraduate & Postgraduate Study Support

– UCAS personal statement writing

– Basic I.T. Skills (beginner)

I’m also an educational progress coach. So if you require coaching, I could also provide that within your tutoring sessions or as a separate service.

Tutoring Style

I have a Ph.D and a PGCE, along with 12 years of experience teaching in the Primary, Secondary, Further Education and Higher Education (university) sectors, and I have tutored both adults and children aged 4+.

My teaching style is to ask students questions to see if they know the answers. I then give them strategies to try to work out the answers and guide them to think for themselves to become independent learners. With the introduction of the new GCSE, being able to think for yourself and develop critical thinking skills early is a real advantage.

At GCSE level, for German and English / English Literature, I provide guided revision sessions that are targeted to the texts or topics you request. If you are unsure of the content you require, you can complete a past paper in test conditions, so that I may assess the level you are working at. We also do walk-throughs of GCSE 9-1 past papers and you have the chance to complete regular exam-style homework questions. You can find regular practice English Language practice exam questions on my Facebook and Twitter pages.

I have a recent DBS check (formally known as CRB), first aid training, as well as excellent reviews and references. I do discounts for block bookings of lessons paid upfront. Please see my pricing structure for costs.


I’m based in Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex. I’m just a 5 to 7-minute walk from Southend-on-Sea High Street and Southend Central C2C station. Don’t worry if you are a little bit early — there is a comfy sofa, where you can wait for your lesson.

I cover all other areas (including internationally) through online tuition via apps like Skype or Zoom.

Next Steps

See my testimonials and praise to know what other tutees have said about me.

Please get in touch with any questions. Please have a look at the available lessons for upcoming weeks and the lesson prices. The times are GMT. When you are ready to book, please fill in an enquiry form or drop me an email.

I have a student of the month competition amongst all my tutees to recognise excellent effort and outstanding progress.

Please also look over my terms and conditions before you begin lessons, so you know what to expect.