• +44 7526938805
  • hello@bexharper.com

Bio

What do you need to know about me? I love learning, teaching and helping people reach their potential through the power of tailed tutoring or success coaching. I’m friendly, approachable, and always willing to answer any questions you might have or provide references that you are welcome to ask for. For more information about my services, please see my terms and conditions, GDPR policyFAQs. Please take a look at my availability and client testimonials. Below I have provided you with all the details you need about me, as a person:

 

QUALIFICATIONS AND AWARDS:

I have gained:

  • Qualified Teacher Status and a PGCE.
  • an interdisciplinary Ph.D from the University of Nottingham.
  • an MA (by Research) German and a BA (hons) German and Portuguese.
  • a Certificate in Personal Coaching (from The Coaching Academy).
  • an International Coach Federation-certified Certificate in Group Coaching (from Animas School of Coaching).
  • Emergency First Aid At Work (EFAW) training (valid until 2022).

 

I have been awarded:

  • a Higher Education teaching award in 2012 and have excellent references & student feedback.
  • an Associate Member Status of the HEA for Higher Education teaching.
  • a successful DBS check and I am on the Update Service which renews yearly.

 

EXPERIENCE:

I tutor adults and children aged 4+ and I have:

 

MY HOBBIES INCLUDE:
  • a love for learning and teaching, singing, playing ukulele and recording music.
  •  hiking, yoga, pottery and dancing.
  • growing my own fruit and vegetables at my allotment.
  • a huge aquarium with fish, shrimp and water snails that lives in my tutoring space! Here are some of the residents:

 

CURRICULUM VITAE:

Aside from running BHTC, I am currently teaching at:

  • The Workers’ Educational Association – Film Studies, History and ESOL tutor (2013-2014 in the East Midlands & 2017 – present in Essex).
  • Create98 – Film Studies tutor in Leigh-on-Sea (2019 – present)
  • Various schools doing supply work (2017-present)

 

Previously, I have taught at the following educational organisations:

  • The Tuition Pod – English, Maths, 11+ and SEND tutor (2017 – 2019) in Thorpe Bay.
  • DaDaABC – Tutor of EFL (English as a Foreign Language) (2017 – 2018) online.
  • Explore Learning – Tutor of Maths, English and the 11+ (2017 – 2018) in Thorpe Bay.
  • 3 high schools (2 grammar schools, 1 comprehensive school) in the UK – Class Teacher (2015 – 2017).
  • Maynooth University (Ireland) – Lecturer and Assistant Researcher (2014 – 2015)
  • The University of Nottingham – Seminar Tutor (2010 – 2014)
  • Carlbergergasse Schule (A junior high school in Vienna, Austria) – Assistant English Teacher (2007-2008)